Cheeky Chorizo Stew with veggie variations

This is my version of chorizo and tomato stew. I say my version because I am not sure where the line between stealing, copying and plagiarism should be drawn. It isn’t exactly a recipe I have read elsewhere, but an amalgamation of lots of recipes and what was in the fridge when I started cooking. Chorizo is delicious spicy and warming and I feel like I discovered it quite late in life, which is unfortunate. It is a great base for flavouring stews- you could also add chicken to this to up the protein, if that’s your thing (do it before you add onion and garlic).  You do not need to add any extra oil as chorizo comes ready full of flavoured fat that will leak out as you heat it. Perfect piece of spicy sausagey goodness, especially in the chilly times of the year. If you do the veggie version you will probably want to add a bit of oil to the pan right at the start.

Chorizo ring (225g or nearest offer) skinned and sliced into chunks.

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 red onion cut into chunks

1 red pepper cut into chunks. I also added half a green pepper because it was in the fridge

100g of cherry tomatoes chopped in half- optional. Again they were in the fridge so in they went

400g chopped tinned chopped tomatoes (although mine were in a carton, I don’t know why)

1 chicken stock cube or similar (I used a Knorr stockpot)

Salt to taste

Dried chilli flakes to taste

Frozen spinach- a couple of blocks

Find yourself a good big frying pan. Put on a low-ish heat and add the chorizo slices. Fry them until they are crispy on one side and all the lovely paprika scented oil has oozed all over the pan. Turn the slices over and add the garlic and the onion. Fry for a few minutes and then add the peppers and the cherry tomatoes. Fry for another few minutes until the onions have softened and then pour in the tinned tomatoes and add the stock cube. Fill the tomato tin (or carton with water, or wine) and add it to the pan. Stir the whole thing together and sprinkle with salt and chill flakes. Drop in some frozen spinach and stir again. Simmer until everything is a bit soft and squidgy. Eat.

Serving suggestions:

Add a poached egg on top: my preferred method of egg poaching is Delia’s. Put about an inch of water in a frying pan and heat until tiny bubbles appear on the bottom. Add the egg (minus the shell obvs) and cook for 1 minute (be precise!). Then turn off the heat and walk away for ten minutes. I find the walking away bit quite important, otherwise I am too tempted to prod the eggs with a spoon. After ten minutes, scoop the eggs out of the pan and rest the spoon on some kitchen roll to drain away water. Put on top of food and eat straight away. You can make several eggs at once, depending on the size of the pan, and it is pretty fool proof. My top tip! Always use fresh eggs as they will hold their shape much better in the water and your egg won’t look like a deranged jellyfish orgy. The fresh egg thing also works for fried eggs, but boiled eggs are better with older eggs, they are so much easier to peel.

Bacon chips: fry or grill bacon until super crispy. Chop or break into pieces. Sprinkle on your stew.

Veggie version: instead of chorizo use chickpeas and add a couple of tsps. od smoked paprika powder (sweet or spicy is up to you). Start with the onions and garlic, and add the chickpeas at the same time as the tinned tomatoes. Don’t add bacon chips.

Carb it up: add chunks of sweet potato or butternut squash with the peppers. Or serve the whole thing over rice.

Calorie counting carbs: serve with cauliflower rice.

4 thoughts on “Cheeky Chorizo Stew with veggie variations

  1. I love your writing style! I’m a total “well it was in the fridge and a couple of days past its date” cook. And I’ll heed your advice not to add bacon to the veggie version. Although why in hell anyone wants to go without bacon bits I’ll never know. Nutters.

  2. I LOVE chorizo, but I’ve never used it in a stew. This sounds great! Back before Thanksgiving I posted my recipe for Cornbread Chorizo Dressing. It is the bomb!!! You might like it. You can find me at insidekelskitchen.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

