Brilliant brunches part 2: the veggie sizzler!

Hello Sunday. Hello hangover. Hello brunch. It has to be brunch because I got up way too late for it to be considered breakfast, in fact brunch may be pushing it a bit. But who cares, this recipe works as breakfast, brunch, lunch and tea- it is whatever you want it to be, a kind of lap dancer of a recipe but without being derogatory to women. As I usually eat a lot of meat- generally choosing protein over processed carbs, I sometimes need a break, so I have been looking up veggie brunch options. Finding high protein breakfasts that don’t include eggs is pretty difficult, and I’ll admit I took the easy route with this one, but I will be bringing you veggie, non-egg options as my search for the perfect brunch continues. A lot of breakfasts also contain protein powder which slightly freaks me out. I am not sure why, but it doesn’t seem like a real food. However, I may just bite the bullet- after all there is a new and unused blender in the kitchen, so I might have to get my blend on at some point. As usual this recipe is a confabulation (what a brilliant word) of recipes I have found, so I claim no originality. This is also a great recipe for variation- and using up your vegetables because I think you can add pretty much anything you like. If you are in need of a meat hit, then a couple of slices of bacon on the top would be perfect.

Recipe for 1:

1/2 pepper de-seeded and cut into chunks. I used an orange one, but colour here (as in life) is irrelevant so use your favourite.

1/2 red onion cut into chunks

75 grams (approx.) of button mushrooms cut in half

1 egg

1/2 avocado cut into slices

Oil- your choice. I use Fry Light coconut oil.

Method:

Spray a small frying pan with oil and put over a medium heat. Add the pepper, red onion, and mushrooms. Turn on the grill to a high heat. Stir the veg around the pan. Drink coffee (this isn’t in the recipe but it is what I did). When the veg is softening and starting to brown, crack your egg into a cup. I used a wine glass because I like to pretend I am classy, and more practically, it is currently the only type of glass in my kitchen. Make a space in the pan by pushing all the veg to the side, like a little amphitheatre of vegetables. If you want to keep your yoke whole, carefully add the egg to the space you have made. If you are like me, drop egg into the pan from a height and then swear loudly as the yoke spreads itself about. Let the egg cook for a couple of minutes and place the pan under the grill until the egg is cooked to your liking. I have a horror of wobbly egg white- it makes me gag and the dish uneatable so I always ere on the side of caution. This usually results in a less than runny yoke, but I don’t mind that. You might. It’s your food so enjoy your eggs as you like. Empty the pan onto a plate and serve with sliced avocado- if you like, or top with grated cheese, or bacon, or all three.

 

Leave a Reply

