Sriracha Spicy Pork Chops with Green Peppers and Courgette Ribbons

Since I bought a bottle of sriracha (spicy chilli sauce) I have been looking for things to do with it. I admit I had never heard of sriracha a couple of weeks ago, and was nervous of adding chilli to anything but I have been gradually adding spice to my food, and over Christmas I appeared to lose my taste buds (thank you flu). The result was making dishes much spicier than I ever had before, and realising I enjoyed the tingle, the buzz, and the fact it made my nose run was disgusting, but at that point a complete bonus. If your sinuses are blocked I highly recommend eating the spiciest meal you can deal with- you will feel better. Chilli is also great for kickstarting your metabolism apparently, so what’s not to like? This recipe is inspired (and somewhat plagiarised) from paleo leap’s spicy pork ribs recipe but it differs in that I didn’t have all the ingredients for that recipe in my cupboard. So I improvised, and it turned out pretty good. I’ll put my recipe here, check out paleo leap for the original, and I have also added veggie options at the bottom. I served mine with courgette ribbons, but a salad or any other kind of greenery would be very good.

Recipe for 2:

2 pork chops

Marinade:

  • 2 tbsp. sriracha. Mine is from a bottle, but if you want to keep it paleo and have the time, check out homemade recipes at nomnompaleo or paleomg
  • 2tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce (coconut aminos instead keep it paleo and gluten free)
  • 1 red onion thinly sliced

Put all the marinade ingredients in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Add the pork chops and coat with the marinade. Leave for about 45 minutes, but if you are in a hurry or hungry then less time won’t destroy the dish.

In the meantime, get your courgette and a potato peeler, and peel your courgette into thin ribbons. Or spiralise, if you have a spiraliser. I do not. Spray your ribbons with coconut oil, or splosh a bit of olive oil on them and stir them gently to cover them with the oil. Leave until you are ready to cook. Thinly slice a green pepper while you are at it.

When you are ready to cook, put a big frying pan over a medium heat and tip in the pork chops and the marinade. Cook for a few minutes, then flip the chops and add the green peppers to the pan, cover in the marinade. Cook the chops until done. I always panic about pork since I read that pork contains killer worms unless cooked properly. According to my friend who is professionally into parasites and things, this is no longer true. But it doesn’t stop me panicking about cooking pork properly. At least then if I am eating killer worms, they will be dead killer worms. I win. You probably don’t want to make this recipe now. Try the veggie version instead- the marinade is killer worm free.

When you pork is done (overdone perhaps) then turn up the heat under another frying pan and throw in your courgettes. Remember they have already been sprayed or tossed with oil (the word tossed always sounds a little bit wrong) so you don’t need to add anymore. Hooray! Stir them about until they are hot (about two minutes) and stop. They don’t really need cooking, just making hot.

A pork chop on each plate, split the green peppers between them and do the same with the courgettes. OooO La La!

If they are too spicy top with a big blob of greek yogurt (fage if you can for plus protein and low calorie). This is not paleo!

If you don’t like spice at all, replace sriracha with a couple of spoons of tinned tomatoes and a squidge of tomato puree. This one is for you Valentine.

Veggie version: instead of pork, use a couple of aubergines. Cut off the top and slice length ways. Put in the marinade. Heat the oven to about 200 degrees c. Place aubergines on baking tray and cover in marinade and bake for about 15 minutes until a bit squidgy but not yet mush. Cook the green peppers with the courgettes, but put the peppers in the pan a few minutes before the courgettes.

Ta Da!

Day 2 of 29 blogs in 29 days is complete.

 

Leave a Reply

