Feelgood Food

Today I wanted to work from home. I can’t. And sometimes your day is a fucker. Sometimes the whole week is a fucker. Forget duvet day, I want a duvet year. But those pesky kids won’t teach themselves. Bastards. But also I get paid to do it, and actually the time in the classroom is usually the best time. Today was a day full of meetings, but it was meetings with my students, who, quite frankly, are some of the most hilarious, insightful, cognitive, literal, sarcastic people I know. I am privileged to spend time with these young people each and every morning, no matter what headaches they might cause during the day. They are a joy to be with on an almost daily basis. Today that included my year 8 class, who are possibly the loudest, shoutiest, engaging, naughtiest, funniest students … at least they were today. Sometimes their inability to stop the constant stream of consciousness talking drives me nuts, but they do usually shut up when asked, and they are brilliantly manipulative- telling them off individually makes me feel like I am kicking a small puppy. Even though I know the puppy is armour plated, and has the memory of a goldfish when it comes to remembering there are consequences to acting like a twat. But there is something about their resistance to conforming that I love, even the ‘good girls’ have their own voice, and they are not afraid to shout down anybody who challenges them. Good!

However, sometimes a fucker of a day happens despite the happy. And that is when you need comfort food. Well I do. Because you know, food. It’s good. My go-to comfort food is roast chicken. But tonight it is just me, and roasting a whole chicken takes way too long for a hungry, impatient, hangry, over-thinking person. But chicken thighs roast beautifully and quickly (relatively). I love the fresh flavour of lemon, and there is something brilliantly indulgent about lusciously moist roast chicken, and the lemon cuts through the fat. Asparagus wrapped in parma ham is just fucking awesome. Salty, a little sweet, and fresh and green. And it is so simple.

Recipe:

Enough chicken thighs to fill you up (include skin and bone)

1 Lemon sliced (retain 1/3 unsliced)

Asparagus tips or spears

Parma ham

Coconut oil

Salt

Method:

Heat the oven to 200 degrees. Place chicken thighs on the tin foil lined baking tray and spray liberally with coconut oil (I used frylight). Sprinkle with salt.

Slice the lemon and place lemon slices on top of the chicken breasts. Put in the oven for about 45 minutes.

When the chicken is nearly ready, wrap each asparagus spear in a slice of parma ham. Spray your frying pan with coconut oil and place spears in the pan. Turn up the heat and cooked until the ham is crispy.

Plate up. Get a napkin or kitchen roll- this is finger food.

Enjoy. And eat the lemon. It will be charred but it is lemon intensified and caramelised and utterly delicious.

2 thoughts on “Feelgood Food

  1. Ooohhhh I’m drooling ! Saving this one for dinner guests a week Saturday 🙂 thanks vic, you are a clever stick X
    You need to have a beetroot recipe soon … Especially like 😉

Leave a Reply

