Coconutty Curry

Sunday nights have become take away nights. Spoiled by the very good Indian restaurant across the road I have become addicted to garlic mogo and chilli paneer. But even when you follow those ‘healthy’ choice guides for your take away, you aren’t really making a healthy choice because you don’t really have any idea what has gone into making it. Obviously from all the recipe reading, research into whole30 and paleo diets, listening to friends who prefer (or need to be) gluten free, then it seemed like a sensible idea to see if I could make something myself that would be just as good. I haven’t quite got round to making my own paneer, but for the first time I put together my own curry paste. I love the creaminess of thai style curry, but I have always been worried by the calorific nature of such dishes. However, I think in making my own paste from mostly fresh ingredients (apart from dried spices) then at least I know where the calories are coming from and I can adjust accordingly. Anyway, that can of coconut milk in the fridge isn’t going to use itself, so here it is- a coconutty curry paste that takes a lot less time than picking up a take away.

Recipe:

A couple of handfuls of cashew nuts soaked in hot water for about 30 minutes

2 red chillis de-seeded and sliced

4 cloves of garlic chopped

1 red onion diced

1 tsp. garam masala

1 tsp. coriander

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. turmeric

1 thumb of ginger in chunks

200 ml coconut milk

Sprinkle of salt

Put everything in a blender. Blend. Add whatever your particular fancy allows- tonight I put some peppers, spinach and peas in a pan with about 250ml of water and 4 spoons of curry paste.

Recipe inspired by http://www.cooklikeacavewoman.com/paleo-red-curry-paste and Whole30.

I believe this paste is also Whole30 compliant. And it’s vegetarian. And vegan.  And gluten free. And really really fucking good!

Leave a Reply

