Short but Sweet

And I am not talking about me. I am short, but rarely sweet. Saccharine is not really what I am about. But I did make sweet pancakes yesterday and this post is going to be short. I ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning and it was all very good. I have never cooked using protein powder before so I was dubious, but if high protein is your thing, and it currently seems to be mine, then it features in lots of recipes. Particularly sweet recipes which currently aren’t really a part of thing, but it was pancake day. Anyway, it worked. Fluffy, flavoursome pancakes and the protein powered me through a HIITS workout, which is something I am also pretty new too also. Anyway, thanks to paleomg for the recipe. The only thing I changed was vanilla flavour powder to chocolate because that is what I had. Next time I might try chocolate peanut butter flavour, which should also go pretty well with banana.

Recipe:

2 bananas chopped into chunks

2 eggs

30 grams of protein powder

Throw it all in the blender. Blend. Spray a small frying pan with coconut oil (I use frylight) and put it over a medium flame. Pour in the batter when the oil has heated, so your pancake is about 5 inches in diameter and cook for a minute or so, until the batter starts to bubble. Then flip your pancake over and cook for another minute or so.

Ta da!

Serve with fresh fruit. Or syrup- although they are pretty sweet already. You could add choc chips to the mixture or maybe blueberries depending on the flavour protein powder you use.

This morning I reheated them and ate them topped with fage and sliced almonds. Yum.

Leave a Reply

