Korean Short Rib Beef

It’s been getting colder, and more miserable. Sideways rain is never really much fun, but what is fun is slow cooked beef. Yes. Fun. Ok it requires some planning but it is also really ridiculously easy. In fact the most difficult part of this recipe was finding short rib beef. It is not a cut I had heard of until I started really seriously researching paleo recipes, and many of the websites I have been looking at are written by authors in the US. I had decided if I couldn’t find the short rib, I would try it with beef shin (another bony slow cook cut) and it would probably turn out alright. However, one should never be too hasty about ingredient substitutions until one has visited Waitrose, the supermarket that considers brioche an essential. Sure enough, the lovely man at the meat counter had kilograms of short rib, and so I was good to go. I was slightly worried it didn’t look like the short rib in the pictures I had seen, as the bone wasn’t obviously sticking out. However, once cooked it looked picture perfect. I marinaded the beef the day before, although I am sure a shorter time would be fine- the recipe I based this upon says 4 hours minimum. I was very pleased with the result- tender and rich, so I would serve it with something quite plain. I used sautéed greed beans and sugar snap peas. Perfect.

Recipe:

1.5kgs beef short rib

100ml coconut aminos (soy sauce if not paleo)

100ml water

100ml honey

1 red chilli de-seeded and sliced small

3 spring onions chopped

2 heaped tsps. of lemongrass paste

6 cloves garlic minced

Put all the ingredients except the short rib into a casserole dish and mix thoroughly. Add the short rib and coat in the marinade. Leave in the fridge for up to 24 hours.

Pre-heat the oven to 150 degrees c. Place the meat (in the casserole dish) in the oven and then leave for about two and a half hours. Eat. Smile. Drink red wine.

For pictures check out my instagram account #experimentalmonkeyfeeder

Leave a Reply

