Baking Paleo

This is a new thing for me. I love baking but as the only person in the house who eats sweet treats it seems a bit of a waste of time, and spending hours macerating butter and sugar into a piece of deliciousness pretty much goes against all my food goals, so I haven’t done it. I have a problem with the paleo cheat idea- that as long as the ingredients are paleo it is ok. As lots of paleo writers remind us, sugar is sugar, whether it is from a coconut or an apple or sugar, so creating recipes that try to bypass the limits of the paleo diet to create cake seem to me a little bit disingenuous. I’m not even strictly paleo, I am drinking a glass of wine as I write this, and wine is a product of the agricultural revolution. A great product, but not paleo. Then again, fermented fruit probably got the occasional caveman a bit tipsy, like elephants do when they eat fermented fruit. However, I have been looking at recipes that seem to stay within the spirit of paleo and still hit that sweet spot.

So, banana cocoa brownies it is. I can’t even call this a recipe- it is so simple!

Take 3 bananas, half a cup of almond butter (or nut butter of your choice) and a quarter cup of cocoa powder. Place in the food processor. Blitz. Poor into a baking tray and cook at 180 degrees for 20 minutes. Leave to cool for a few minutes and cut into squares.

Done. You’re welcome.

PS. half a cup is about 100g.

Leave a Reply

