My favourite marinade in the whole world

Photos to be found on my instagram account: experimentalmonkeyfeeder

I have been playing around with marinades recently. Some of these have come up on the blog like the teriyaki chicken wings, and others have not. They failed to be delicious enough to write about, but what I noticed is that every recipe I read seems to need certain ingredients adding if they aren’t on the list. So I thought I would just make a marinade out of my favourite ingredients and see what happened. And it was FUCKING AWESOME!

So I obviously need to share it. But before I do, a little bit about why I love marinades in the first place.

  • they taste really good;
  • they are easily personalised;
  • they are economical;
  • they enhance cheap cuts of meats;
  • you can put them in the fridge and forget about them;

So basically, a marinade is awesome. I used this one with a rack of pork ribs, but spare ribs would work brilliantly, as would chicken wings, and if you wanted to do a stir fry, then instead of using it as a marinade, make it up and use it as a sauce (that’s my veggie version).

This hasn’t come from any particular recipe, just a build of flavours that I enjoy, and pretty much always have in the fridge. If you like one more than the other then feel free to adjust the measures- to be honest, I never measure when making this. I just pour. Or use whatever is left in the fridge.

Ingredients:

100ml coconut aminos (soy sauce if not paleo)

100ml water

2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

4 cloves garlic minced

1 red chilli sliced (I remove the seeds)

2 tsps. lemongrass paste

1 thumb ginger grated

1/2 red onion

Method:

Put the liquids in a bowl. Add the spices. Chop the red onion finely and then place in an sieve (or a square of muslin if you have that kind of shit around) and squeeze the onion until the juice comes out and goes into the marinade- it will be delicious. Then put the onion in the bowl too. It will now smell pretty pungent but go with it. Add your meat of choice and leave for however much time you have available. I left the ribs in the marinade for a few hours and then baked them for about an hour.

They were amazing.

Alternatively, toss in some veg, heat up a heavy pan and fry the shit out of it.

 

Leave a Reply

