Pork and Chorizo Chill

Photos on my instagram account: experimentalmonkeyfeeder or my twitter account: experimentalmonkeyfeeder

I have tried to write this blog about 4 times, and each time my computer has deleted the blog. Stupid fucking computer. I fucking hate it. But I do like to use the word fuck quite a lot, so the last few sentences have restored some balance to the universe. I am sorry if swearing offends you. That’s a lie. I don’t fucking care. But don’t worry, with the balance now restored I will be swearing less.

Chorizo is great. I always try and make sure I have some in the fridge because it is great to add to so many things. Using it in chilli seems like an obvious move, so obvious that I can’t believe I haven’t done it before. Stupid fucking me! But earlier this week I did it and it was really lovely. It also tastes better the longer you leave it, this is the perfect leftovers dish, so if you make it, make a lots. I served it with cauliflower rice one day, with courgetti another day, and butternut squash noodles for the last hurrah! Butternut squash noodles were another revelation. I know I am late to the party but super delicious and low calorie. I don’t have a spiralizer but I need one. I also think they should be known as squoodles. In this house they will be.

What else did I discover? The weirdly wonderful cashew cheese! Yes cheese made out of cashew nuts. Maybe you know all about this, but I did not, and then I found it while looking for something to eat and I made it and it was wonderful in a total headfuck kind of way. I mean it nuts, literally nuts, with salt and lemon juice, but it has a cheesy flavour. How does that happen? Cashew butter has the decency to taste like cashew nuts, but cashew cheese is a taste sensation. I felt like Peter Kay in Phoenix Nights: Garlic bread? Cheese Cake? Cashew Cheese? Anyway, look it up and try it out.

Back to the main event:

Ingredients:

100g chorizo in chunks

450g pork mince

½ red onion in chunks

½ red pepper in chunks

½ green pepper in chunks

10 button mushrooms

4 cloves of garlic minced

1 red chilli sliced

2 tsps cumin

2 tsps hot paprika

400g tinned tomatoes

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

What to do:

Put a big frying pan over a low heat and add the chorizo, let it get sizzly and crispy and then add the pork mince. As it browns break it up with a spatula so it is in little mincy bits. Then add onion, peppers and mushrooms. Stir them around so they get cover in the chorizo oils and wait for them to get a bit crispy too. Then throw in the garlic and chilli and toss about with gay abandon. Once thoroughly mixed up then add the tinned tomatoes with the cumin and paprika. Stir about. Add the balsamic vinegar and then leave over a low heat to simmer for as long as you like. If you are in a hurry then about 20 minutes will do, but if you can leave it longer then do so. If you are worried about it drying out then you can add a splash of water or red wine if you are feeling decadent.

Enjoy with the leftover wine if you used it, and whatever accompaniment you like. Squoodles FTW!

 

Leave a Reply

