Luscious Lamb with cumin and olives

Photos on my instagram account: experimentalmonkeyfeeder

Lusciously alliterative. I am a sucker for alliteration. It feels like a long time since I actually posted anything, which is a bit annoying because I have been making lots of good things in the past few weeks. Check out my instagram account if you don’t believe me. I am annoyingly addicted to posting pictures of my food. I used to do it a bit, but now my personal trainer demands to see what I am eating, it has gone mental. It is useful though, I definitely know when I am not eating right because I know just what my personal trainer will say when he sees it. But this recipe not only deserves personal trainer praise for all its goodness, it tastes fucking fantastic. It’s warming, rich and tender, plus it is paleo, gluten free and all that jazz. So let’s go!

Neck fillet of lamb (about 450g for two)

4 shallots thinly sliced

4 cloves of garlic minced

1 pint vegetable stock (that’s what I had)

2 tsps. cumin

2tsps. paprika

15 green olives (well, as many as you like really)

15 mini tomatoes (again…whatever you like really, and if you don’t have mini tomatoes then use big ones. They will break down anyway)

A mix of greens- I used baby kale, baby spinach, pak choi and red chard

Coconut oil

What to do: Heat the coconut oil up in a large frying pan to a high heat. Sear the lamb fillets- they are usually seared when they move easily in the pan, if they are sticking then leave them a little bit longer. The oil should be fizzing and spitting and it should smell good. Once the fillets are sealed, add the rest of the ingredients  (except the greens) to the pan and stir well. The stock should come to about half way up the fillets so you could add more or less depending on the size of your pan. Bring to the boil and then reduce to a simmer. Leave it bubbling for about 30 minutes and then go back and flip the fillets over and give the sauce another good stir- the tomatoes should be breaking down by now and add colour and richness. Taste the sauce and add more seasoning if you feel it needs it. Leave for about another 15 minutes. Why not use the time to prepare something to go with it? I did cauliflower rice, but if you eat carbs it would be great to serve it in a crunchy bread roll as a bowl (and nicely medieval).

Add the greens and stir until wilted. Eat! This would be a great twist on the traditional Easter lamb-next Easter though now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

