Preparing to go Whole30: Spicy Paprika Meatballs

It has been a while since I blogged. This is mostly because I didn’t feel like I had anything I wanted to share, or perhaps I was ranting enough in real life that I didn’t need to rant on the internet. Today I am not ranting, although I have no doubt there will be plenty in the future, I am writing for me. I once read if you really want to do something, and you are not sure you can, then tell people. The fear of failure will drive you on when you really don’t want to. I don’t know if this is a positive or negative motivation, but it is worth a try.

So, from the 30 May to the 28 June I will only be consuming the following:

  • Meat
  • Seafood
  • Vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Eggs
  • COFFEE- coffee is allowed, which is fortunate

I think that pretty much sums it up. None of the following:

  • Grains
  • Gluten
  • Dairy
  • Soy
  • Alcohol
  • Sugar (except what exists in fruit already)

Why am I doing this? I don’t really know. I feel like I need a real change in what I am eating. Little things have been creeping in and around my usual diet and the treats are starting to become the norm. As a build up I have decided to incorporate more whole30 compliant recipes (I think they are anyway) into my daily diet and sharing those recipes here and there. I will also be sharing my thoughts as I go through it. Probably.

So today I made paprika pork meatballs in spicy tomato sauce.

For two portions I used:

250g pork mince mixed with 2 tsps. of sweet smoked paprika and 1/2 egg. Make into little balls and pan fry in coconut oil until crispy on both sides. Put on a plate.

Then add about 250ml water to the pan. It will fizz and steam a little spectacularly, but it will also deglaze the pan. Usually I would use red wine, but no alcohol remember.

Add to the pan

  • 1/2 sliced red onion,
  • 1 cubed red pepper,
  • 1/2 cubed sweet potato
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tsp. each of smoked paprika, cumin, garlic granules and dried chilli flakes

Put the meatballs back in the pan and cover with a lid (leaving a small gap so steam can escape). Leave for about twenty minutes.

Put half into a bowl and top with avocado. And Bob is your mother’s brother.

 

Leave a Reply

